Sign up | Log in



EU to sign Asean non-aggression pact – Envoy


September 13, 2008

EU to sign Asean non-aggression pact – Envoy
The European Union plans to sign the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation next year during an Asean-EU ministerial meeting in Phnom Penh, an English-language daily in Thailand
quoted French Ambassador to Thailand Laurent Bili as saying Friday.

The Nation quoted Bili, who recently assumed the EU presidency, said the EU would be the first foreign grouping to sign the Asean-sponsored treaty. At the moment, besides
Asean countries, signatories include China, India, South Korea, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, East Timor, Papua New Guinea, France, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.
Under the treaty, countries agree to mutual respect for the independence, sovereignty, equality, territorial integrity and national identity of all nations.

The next session of Asean-EU FTA talks will be held in Hanoi from October 15-17. EU Trade Commissioner Peter Mandelson is expected to participate.

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Special Feature | Features | News | Magazine | Events | TV | Press Release | Advertise With us

| Terms of Use | Site Map | Privacy Policy  | DISCLAIMER |

Version 5.0
Copyright © 2006-2021 TIME INTERNATIONAL MANAGEMENT ENTERPRISES CO., LTD. All rights reserved.
Bangkok, Thailand